Fr James Geevarghese is elected new Ahmedabad Diocese Secretary under Mar Yulios

AHMEDABAD: The Diocesan General Assembly of the Diocese of Ahmedabad was held under the presidentship of Ahmedabad Diocese Metropolitan, HG Pulikkottil Dr Geevarghese Mar Yulios, on February 10, 2017 at St Thomas Chapel, Naroda, as per Kalpana No 56/16 dated on December 30, 2016.
Fr James Geevarghese, was elected to the Diocesan Council as the new Diocesan Secretary for the next five years with effect from April 1, 2017 to March 31, 2022 unless any other order is issued in future on the matter. 
The other members elected as priest representatives to assist Fr James are Fr Saju Padachira from Rajkot and Fr Varghese Thomas from Pithampur.
The lay representatives elected are: Saji Abraham from Gandhinagar, Sabu Cherian from Udaipur, C V Jacob from Indore and Boban Mathew Thomas from Muscat Mar Gregorios Orthodox Maha Edavaka.
Mar Yulios has in a Kalpana No 03/17 recorded his appreciation for the sincere service rendered by Fr Jacob Mathew, outgoing Diocesan Secretary, and other Diocesan Council Members who served the Diocese for the last five years from 2012 to 2017. The Metropolitan has expressed his best wishes for the newly elected members and pray that they work together for the future development of the Diocese. 
Fr James is the present Assistant Vicar, Mar Gregorios Orthodox Valiyapally, Baroda, and St George Orthodox Congregation, Kalol, and MGOCSM, Vice President.
Earlier, Fr James was also Vicar of Muscat Mar Gregorios Orthodox Maha Edavaka from 2008 to 2011 and later Assistant Vicar, Ahmedabad Cathedral and Aramana Manager, St Thomas Bishop’s House, Naroda.